Skip to main content

Challah is definitely delicious, but if you're trying to eat healthy or you have a special diet, it's not really on the meal plan (as they say). That is until now!

Below are 4 different categories of alternative style challahs that should provide everyone with a challah recipe that meets their needs: Whole Wheat, Spelt, Gluten Free and Vegan. 

Please note, we have had many requests for a Keto challah, but the truth is there is no such thing as a keto challah.  Keto is grain-free and in order to say the Hamotzi bracha on challah it needs to have grains, that being said we are waiting from some keto friends to share a "dirty keto" challah recipe, once it's perfect we will add to this list. 

If you have any other special challah requests, please let us know. 

Whole Wheat Challah 

Whole Wheat Challah

Whole wheat challah was probably the first break-away from the traditional white flour challah. The first Whole Wheat Challah we have is a half and half challah (3 cups white and 3 cups whole wheat), which is typical for a whole wheat recipe. You can try this with 100% whole wheat flour if you add another tablespoon of vital wheat gluten. You can also try this Honey Whole Wheat Recipe which uses white-whole wheat flour and can be made in a bread machine. How about this other delicious Whole Wheat Challah... It has a large amount of yeast but will definitely turn out fluffy. If you want something completely different, try this Zaatar and Olive Challah. It uses olive oil instead of the traditional canola and is made with half and half white and whole wheat flour.

Spelt

spelt challah

Spelt Challah is also a great option for your family and friends who may be attached to their white challah, it's whole grain, but light and fluffy and a milder flavor than whole wheat. Some spelt recipes come out brick-heavy, but these are light and delicious! You can also try out our Soaked Spelt Challah. Soaking the grain helps break it down into a more digestible form for your body and makes the whole grains more tender giving a very good texture to your baked items.

Gluten-Free Challah

gluten free challah

Gluten-Free Quick Challah is a great gluten-free challah recipe. Don't let the ingredients list scare you! It can be made in just a few hours from start to finish. Although the dough is more like a thick batter, the baked bread has a great crumb. You can also try out our Gluten-Free Challah Muffins. Because you bake the batter in a muffin tray or loaf pan, the dough seems easier to handle.

We also have these GF Challah Muffins that are also FODMAP friendly. If you're looking for an oat challah recipe to make hamotzei, this Gluten-Free Oat Challah will do the trick.

For a gluten-free challah recipe with something special hidden inside, try the Chocolate Stuffed Gluten-Free Challah (not just for Hanukkah). 

Vegan (Eggless) Challah

vegan aquaphaba challah

In addition to being good vegan practice, there is also good historic reason for not having eggs in the challah. Syrian Jews do not use eggs in their challah, because they say the Temple shewbread, which is the origin of the challah tradition did not have eggs. This Eggless Challah is the perfect addition to your table if you or any of your guests are vegan, it uses turmeric to get that eggy color. You can also try this Vegan Challah recipe that uses aquafaba to replace the eggs or try one of our water challah recipes.

After trying some of these out let us know in the comments... Are they better than a white flour challah?