Skip to main content

Pour Out The Kosher Wine -Into a Glass of Course!

  • Author:
  • Publish date:
Pour Out The Kosher Wine -Into a Glass of Course!

Kosher wine is traditional for the Passover seder, so what goes into that making that bottle? To keep with tradition, those who may not keep kosher will enjoy kosher wine, but not too many people consider all that it takes to create kosher wine. It all starts with Concord grapes, which naturally have a bitter taste, so bottlers add large amounts of sugar to sweeten the wine.

And then there is the difference between kosher wine that uses boiling to purify it (Mevushal), and the newer "flash pasteurization" method which does the same thing, yet preserves the taste. However, by not boiling it, the "non-Mevushal" wine can lose it's kosher status if handled by a non-Jew. The Mevushal is exempt from this and can be poured and enjoyed by all, regardless of religion.

Just remember that just because it's a kosher wine doesn't automatically make it an award winning wine. Ask around, ask friends, ask your rabbi! Now that wine producers are hastily realizing the surge in popularity of kosher wines, and creating more choices, wine stores will be more than happy to assist your purchase. L'Chaiyim!